Delhi exit poll results: BJP power show to continue, AAP-Congress fail to impress | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: The exit polls have predicted another strong BJP show in the national capital of Delhi. The PMARQ exit poll has predicted BJP win on 7 of 7 seats.
Polling for the seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi was held on May 25 in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections. According to the Election Commission of India, a voter turnout of 58.69% was recorded in the national capital.Among the seven constituencies, North East Delhi recorded the highest turnout at 62.89%, while New Delhi had the lowest at 55.43%.
In the last two Lok Sabha elections, the BJP decimated both the AAP and the Congress as it won all the 7 seats. The Congress was relegated to third spot in most of the seats. In the 2019 elections, BJP got 56.86% of the vote share, while the Congress secured 22.51% and AAP polled 18.11% of the votes.
This time around Congress and AAP have joined hands under the INDIA banner to prevent a BJP clean sweep in Delhi. AAP contested on four seats leaving the rest three for the Congress.
The BJP, meanwhile, changed 6 out of the 7 sitting MPs in the national capital. Manoj Tiwari was the only sitting MP who was renominated by the party from North East Delhi.
The exit poll results predict some cheers for the AAP-Congress alliance. However, the actual verdict of the people of Delhi will be known on June 4, when the votes are counted.
Delhi, with its seven parliamentary constituencies, plays a crucial role in national politics. The capital has historically seen a direct contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress. Since 2013, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has emerged as a significant political force in Delhi.
In both the 2014 and 2019 general elections, the BJP won all seven seats in Delhi, securing 56.86% of the vote share in 2019. The Congress secured 22.51%, and AAP obtained 18.11% of the votes.
For this election, the BJP’s candidates include Manoj Tiwari from North East Delhi, Ramvir Singh Bidhuri from South Delhi, Bansuri Swaraj from New Delhi, Harsh Deep Malhotra from East Delhi, Yogendra Chandolia from North West Delhi, Praveen Khandelwal from Chandni Chowk, and Kamaljeet Sehrawat from West Delhi.
In late February, Congress and AAP reached a seat-sharing agreement after weeks of negotiations. Under this agreement, AAP contested in four constituencies: East Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, and New Delhi. Congress fielded candidates in the remaining three constituencies: Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, and North West Delhi.
AAP and Congress have formed an alliance in Delhi. AAP contested on four seats, while Congress contested the remaining three. AAP fielded Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi, Mahabal Mishra in West Delhi, Somnath Bharti in New Delhi, and Sahi Ram Pahalwan in South Delhi. Congress nominated J P Agarwal for Chandni Chowk, Kanhaiya Kumar for North East Delhi, and Udit Raj for North West Delhi.

Source link

By Exabyte News

Your ultimate source for trending news! Stay up-to-date with the latest viral stories, hottest topics, and breaking news from Exabyte News. Stay ahead with our in-depth coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *