ICC announces record prize money of .25 million for T20 World Cup 2024 | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced a groundbreaking prize money of $11.25 million for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, setting a new record for the tournament.
“The winners of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is set to receive at least $2.45 million – the highest prize amount in the history of the event,” the ICC stated in a media release.
The ninth edition of the tournament will witness the participation of 20 teams competing over a span of 28 days across nine venues in the West Indies and USA, making it the largest event of its kind.
The runners-up will secure at least $1.28 million, while the losing semi-finalists will take home $787,500 each. Teams failing to progress past the second round will receive $382,500 each, and those finishing between ninth and 12th place will earn $247,500 each.
Teams ranked from 13th to 20th place will each receive $225,000. Furthermore, every team will be awarded an additional $31,154 for each match won during the tournament, excluding the semi-finals and finals.
The tournament will commence with 40 matches in the first round, followed by the Super 8s and culminating in the semi-finals, which will be held in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.
The final match will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where the champions of the 2024 men’s edition will be crowned.
“This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event,” ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said in a media statement.

Source link

By Exabyte News

Your ultimate source for trending news! Stay up-to-date with the latest viral stories, hottest topics, and breaking news from Exabyte News. Stay ahead with our in-depth coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *