Kolkata Dakshin Constituency of West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024: Date of Voting, Result, Candidates List, Main Parties, Schedule | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Voting for the Kolkata Dakshin constituency in the Lok Sabha elections is scheduled for June 1, marking the seventh and final phase of the electoral process. West Bengal will witness voting across all seven phases, spanning from April 19 to June 1, to elect 42 members to the Lok Sabha.
The election results will be announced on June 4, 2024.In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal, the TMC won 22 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, while the BJP gained notable momentum with 18 seats. Congress won two seats.
Candidates from the Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency include Mala Roy from AITC, Saira Shah Halim from CPI(M), and Debasri Chaudhary from BJP.
In the 2019 elections, Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary constituency boasted a total of 1,728,851 eligible voters. Mala Roy, representing the All India Trinamool Congress, emerged victorious, clinching a total of 573,119 votes and securing the seat as Member of Parliament. Chandra Kumar Bose, the candidate from the Bharatiya Janata Party, came in second with a total of 417,927 votes, trailing by 155,192 votes.
In the 2014 elections, the Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary constituency boasted a total of 1,685,296 eligible voters. Of these, 1,167,986 cast valid votes. Subrata Bakshi of the All India Trinamool Congress emerged victorious, clinching 431,715 votes and earning the title of MP for the constituency. His closest rival, Tathagata Roy of the Bharatiya Janata Party, garnered 295,376 votes, falling short by 136,339 votes.
The main parties vying for seats in West Bengal include the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and a coalition of Left Front and Indian National Congress.
The model code of conduct came into effect from March 16 and will continue until the completion of the vote counting process on June 4.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

By Exabyte News

Your ultimate source for trending news! Stay up-to-date with the latest viral stories, hottest topics, and breaking news from Exabyte News. Stay ahead with our in-depth coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *