PM Modi wins Varanasi but sees big dip in vote share | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has won the Varanasi seat for a third consecutive time as results for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections were released by the Election Commission on Tuesday.
PM Modi was up against Congress’s Ajay Rai.
The PM won the seat with 6,12,970 votes (54.24%) while Rai got 4,60,457 votes (40.74%).
While the PM has managed to achieve a hat-trick, the win is bittersweet as his vote share has dropped by around 9 percentage points.

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Elections

In 2019, PM Modi had won the seat with 6,74,664 votes (63.62%). In 2014, he had secured the seat with 5,81,022 votes (56.37%).
Ajay Rai, who had cornered just 14% vote share in 2019 increased it to 40.74% this time. The increase is partly due to the seat-sharing deal between the Congress and the Samajwadi Party. The SP did not field a candidate from the seat.

Source link

By Exabyte News

Your ultimate source for trending news! Stay up-to-date with the latest viral stories, hottest topics, and breaking news from Exabyte News. Stay ahead with our in-depth coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *