Ladakh Lok Sabha Election 2024 Exit Poll Results: Axis My India predicts Congress win in Ladakh | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: In the exit polls released on Saturday, Axis My India predicted that the Ladakh Lok Sabha seat of Ladakh Union territory is to be won by the Congress party.
Ladakh is the only constituency in the newly created Union Territory. This parliamentary constituency was previously under Jammu and Kashmir until 2019, when the central government decided to scrap Article 370 of the Constitution and declared Ladakh as a separate UT.
The Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency, the largest in the country with an area of 173,266 square kilometers and over 182,000 voters, participated in the fifth phase of elections on May 20.
It recorded a voter turnout of 71.82 per cent.
BJP, and Congress are the key parties in the area. BJP’s Tashi Gyalson and Congress’s Tsering Namgyal from Leh, three Independents, Mohmad Haneefa Jan, Sajjad Hussain, and Kacho Mohd Feroz from Kargil, are in the fray to win the seat.
Thupstan Chhewang secured the Ladakh Lok Sabha seat for the BJP for the first time in 2014. The BJP retained the seat in the 2019 general election with Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who was not given a ticket this time.
Since its establishment in 1967, the Congress has won the seat six times, the National Conference twice, and Independents three times.

Source link

By Exabyte News

Your ultimate source for trending news! Stay up-to-date with the latest viral stories, hottest topics, and breaking news from Exabyte News. Stay ahead with our in-depth coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *